“Why do you read so much?”

I’ve been asked this question before, multiple times actually. To be honest, I’ve never really thought about it until the last few days. I read all the time. There’s hardly ever a time when I’m not in the middle of a book. I generally finish one and turn around and start another the next day, some times even the same day. I guess the answer I’ve come up with, is that reading is my escape. My escape from life; from pain, from stress, from anxiety. If I have a good book in my hand, I can find myself in a completely separate place. Wandering the halls of Hogwarts, hanging out with Sookie in Bon Temps, trying to choose between a sparkly vampire or a hot werewolf, fighting evil in the green forest, starting a new life after a virus wipes out most of the world, running from aliens, fighting daemons, falling in love with any number of fictional characters and living their drama for a while instead of my own. Don’t get me wrong, I love my life and the people in it, but everyone needs a break. I find mine on my kindle app or in the pages of a book. Never underestimate the psychological and emotional value in a good book.

Leave a Reply

